ABS Fusible link repeatedly blows at Key-On

My ABS failed during a race. Caused some high speed excitement at ~110mph. https://vimeo.com/378589484

Bottom line. The cause turned out to be the ABS Control Unit circuit board shorting out against it’s enclosure. If your ABS light is on and you blow your ABS relay fusible link each time you Key-On, then you may have the same issue.

<Later edit. Andrew Sides says that the external relay with it’s fusible link is Early only. So if you have a Late E30, look for a fusible link in the control module it’self. I have no experience with Late E30s.>

The first thing you have to do is deal with the fusible link so you can do some testing w/o killing an ABS relay every time. If you pull apart the ABS relay you’ll see the fusible link. Solder in some wires so you can remote the fusible link to an easily replaceable 10A external fuse. Don’t use the tiniest wires you can find because they need to support 10A. Don’t go bigger than 10A.

The fusible link is what provides power to the control unit. E30 electrical schematics are readily available. To find them search for “E30 electrical troubleshooting.”

Disconnect the ABS cable at hydraulic unit. Go Key-On and see if your fuse blows. If so remove your ABS control unit above driver’s left knee. You have to remove 2 small phillips screws in order to remove cable. Once the unit is out, you have to remove 2 security screws to get the faceplate off of the control unit. I got one screw off with vise grips, but the other I had to drill out.

With the circuit board removed from the enclosure, connect it back to the ABS cable being careful that it doesn’t ground against anything. Go Key-On and see if your fuse remains intact. If so, viola, you figured out the problem.