Auto Lift Advice

In the near future, I will be moving to a house with a garage large enough for a lift.:slight_smile: I am a complete novice on this, so I would welcome advice and recommendations on brands, types, drive mechanism, where to buy? New or used? What to avoid?

I will use this for work on the e30 and other cars. The largest vehicle will be a dually, quad cab Silverado. There is plenty of height above the lift location (approx 2 stories). I am located in the Atlanta area. Thanks for your help.

I just got done removing the half shafts and drive shaft from my diff. God how I’d love a lift.

Every afternoon at 3:30PM, Craig offers a guided tour of his lift (in English and in Spanish) at the Racer-X central for $5.00.

You will get to see the inner workings of not only the lift, but also a glimpse into the latest secret Racer-X modification that may be in progress.

Bendpak - I believe is the lift gold standard. The heaviest duty I’ve seen is 12000, I’m sure there are others out there. You can find searching Craigslist from time to time (its good for something other than h00kers Jones). I’ve seen anywhere from $600 to $3000 (new).

Most places also assume if you are buying a lift you know how to put it together and install, so like your kid’s bike on xmas day - some assembly required.

You’ll need 220V electric, and probably a mobile hydraulic hose shop on speed dial.

Someone that has a lift vs. actually dreaming about one can share more speed secrets.

Links of interest:

http://www.e-autolifts.com/index.html

http://www.gregsmithequipment.com/default.asp

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/category_6970_89+297068